Armoured Mains cable

A place to chat/ ask about tool, fitting out your workshop etc etc
Post Reply
User avatar
moscowjohn
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:01 pm
Location: West Wales

Armoured Mains cable

Post by moscowjohn » Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:38 pm

Hi. I'm building Ruth a studio and need to lay an underground mains cable.
Is there a standard mains cable I should buy?
Cheers. John.
0 x

User avatar
Joth.Hill
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire

Re: Armoured Mains cable

Post by Joth.Hill » Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:41 pm

You will need a 3 Core SWA cable (Live Neutral & Earth), size will depend on Current required and Distance of the cable.
0 x

User avatar
mt bandit
Posts: 1597
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:04 am
Location: kent

Re: Armoured Mains cable

Post by mt bandit » Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:05 pm

i always lay my underground cables in a 50mm duct
0 x
Africa twin 750
honda hornet 600 now sold :(
mt 500
mt560e
can am
divorce coming soon

appyarry
Posts: 1479
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:39 pm
Location: Lyminge, Kent.

Re: Armoured Mains cable

Post by appyarry » Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:28 am

I'd use a cable that is rated for 16 amps if you are looking at a compressor/welder/heating. I'd use a duct as well as armoured and put a draw string in so If I needed another cable for any reason (alarm/Cat5) it would be easier to do.

Good Luck,
0 x
MT 604e :-)
Serveta Jet 200
Triumph Tigress 250
BSA C15 to be rebuilt as Scrambler
Sinclair Goddard PowerPak
Kalkhoff Endeavour 11 Speed Hub

User avatar
bth2bth2
Posts: 4223
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 8:45 am
Location: Blackpool

Re: Armoured Mains cable

Post by bth2bth2 » Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:12 am

distance from the main supply is important to avoid too much voltage drop. eg because my shed is 50mtrs away from the main supply i need to use 6mm swa. i may have got away with 4mm but not worth the chance/more expense. there are calculations to assist in working it out.
0 x
Slowly slowly catchy monkey.............
CBR 900rrs , zrx1100.in green gone but not forgotten.....mt500 in green ,stolen and abused but still alive.......cos one day , all bikes will be this slowwwwwww

User avatar
Mr Shiney
Posts: 4566
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:33 am
Location: Deenethorpe, Northants
Location: Cuckooland

Re: Armoured Mains cable

Post by Mr Shiney » Fri Apr 15, 2016 1:25 pm

We did this in October, I put a 10mm2 cable out to Jeannettes workshop which is a 15m run from the house. Its the armoured stuff and buried under the patio. She only pulls 40amp max but I went for belt and braces as 10mm2 was rated to 67amps over 20m.

It depends on what you want to run. 32amp will run to 20m approx on a 4mm2 cable. You need to look up the part P regulation as well. If memory serves me right to run to a shed you will need a separate earth take off spiked into the ground taken from the consumer unit you install in the shed but you will need to read the regs to confirm.

Legally you need a Part P sign off now to install it........ ;) What you do in your own castle is up to you in my opinion though!!
0 x
97 MT350 - 500e hybrid GL 72 AA
MT604 - 350 Hybrid - Blue Thunder.... 53 KL 70
2013 Kawasaki Z1000SX
Mighty XR400
Even mightier CanAm250
Peugeot Kisbee Scoot 102cc
Ex RAF Defender 90

Why do you need so many bikes when you only have one bum? Girls eh!

User avatar
moscowjohn
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:01 pm
Location: West Wales

Re: Armoured Mains cable

Post by moscowjohn » Fri Apr 15, 2016 4:44 pm

It was there already guv......
There's already a massive cable out to the garage, it'll be Carrying on from there approx 15m.
It shouldn't be powering anything too big, mainly lighting and computer...
Sounds like 6mm should be fine?......
0 x

User avatar
Mr Shiney
Posts: 4566
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:33 am
Location: Deenethorpe, Northants
Location: Cuckooland

Re: Armoured Mains cable

Post by Mr Shiney » Fri Apr 15, 2016 5:06 pm

moscowjohn wrote:It was there already guv......
There's already a massive cable out to the garage, it'll be Carrying on from there approx 15m.
It shouldn't be powering anything too big, mainly lighting and computer...
Sounds like 6mm should be fine?......
6mm2 Is plenty for that.
0 x
97 MT350 - 500e hybrid GL 72 AA
MT604 - 350 Hybrid - Blue Thunder.... 53 KL 70
2013 Kawasaki Z1000SX
Mighty XR400
Even mightier CanAm250
Peugeot Kisbee Scoot 102cc
Ex RAF Defender 90

Why do you need so many bikes when you only have one bum? Girls eh!

User avatar
moscowjohn
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:01 pm
Location: West Wales

Re: Armoured Mains cable

Post by moscowjohn » Fri Apr 15, 2016 5:30 pm

Thanks for all the comments.
0 x

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests