Mt 500 basket case rebuild

Show us what you're working on (MT or very very closelyy related subjects only please).
bambi68

Mt 500 basket case rebuild

Post by bambi68 » Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:17 pm

As I'm a newbie here I have acquired an 1987mt500 in a pile of bits, the frame had been powder coated and the engine had been placed in the frame.

After checking a few bits of work carried out I could not determine what was what, so I am now going over each section checking rechecking and adjusting etc where necessary.

Rear suspension refitted new bearing, spacer and bush fitted, ( probably needs another bearing at least possible two.)
Front brake pinion was seized in the drum, cleaned greased all good, ( still wants a new cable in time but it is ok for now)
Cam belt loose, crank locking bolt made crank locked belt off casing off, clutch case off cleaned degreased and repainted.

This build is being done on a very tight budget so not a cheque book rebuild, but not a cut corner one either.

The main idea is to rebuild it find what is right, correct replace what is wrong damaged worn out when I can. If needs be I will build it make a note of worn parts and replace later.

My next bits will be a set of oil pipes as the ones fitted have gone hard and split.

Here are the photos from when I got it. (More to follow)
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (110.58 KiB) Viewed 1308 times
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (106.86 KiB) Viewed 1308 times
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (107.47 KiB) Viewed 1308 times
0 x

bth2bth2

Re: Mt 500 basket case rebuild

Post by bth2bth2 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 1:17 am

that front sprocket will be a bugga to get off. that might be an engine strip. :cry:
oil lines....buy a length of 10mm bore(I think) oil pipe from your local car spare store or better still your local hydraulics factors. cut to length and you can either fit with "o" clips (better) or jubilee clips (adequate).

brian
0 x
Slowly slowly catchy monkey.............